Prior to 1991, Dausa was a part of Jaipur district. When Jaipur was reconstituted, Dausa became a separate district along with Lalsot, Sikar and Baswa. In 1992, Mahwa Tehsil was also included in Dausa district. Before that, Mahwa was a part of Sawai Madhopur.

Dausa is located in the Dhundhar region of Rajasthan and forms the north-eastern boundary of the state. This place was under the rule of Chouhan Rajputs and Badgurjars in the 10th century AD. Dausa was the capital of Dhundhar at that time. Chouhan ruler Raja Soodh Dev ruled the place from 996 AD till 1006 AD. From 1006 AD till 1036 AD, the place was under the rule of Raja Dule Rai.

During the struggle of India’s Independence, many freedom fighters belonged to Dausa. Late Shri Ram Karan Joshi and Late Shri Tikaram Paliwal were among them. After Independence, Late ShriTikaramPaliwal became the first Chief Minister of Rajasthan while Late Shri Ram Karan Joshi was the elected as the first Panchayati Raj Minister.